RENO, NV - Money generated by car registration fees goes to school districts and county budgets.
While it may be less expensive to register your car in another state, or you may have time on your current registration—it’s immaterial—the state of Nevada is going to start enforcing the law.
Sparks resident Richard Striker shows us his Montana plates when we stopped to talk to him at the D.M.V
He hopes to exchange for Nevada plates before April 1st.
“We heard about it on T.V, and its $1,000 fine. We thought we'd get it done right away,” said Striker.
Travel down city streets or interstates around town and it’s not too tough to spot out-of-state plates.
These drivers might just be visitors to our area but some are people who have established a residence here, work here, received a driver's license, even local car insurance---yet have not registered their car here in Nevada.
“I carry insurance, I have registered my plates. Everybody should, it’s only fair. It's the law,” says Frank Alverson another Sparks resident.
Beginning next month, Nevada Highway Patrol Troopers will be cracking down on residents who haven't registered their vehicle in the state.
It won't be a primary stop.
Typically troopers say it comes up when the driver has made a moving violation.
The law is, a driver has 30-days to register his car here if he lives and works in Nevada.
No one can say how many cars are *not* registered here that need to be.
What we do know in the last two months more than 12,000 out of state driver’s licenses were turned into the D-M-V--and many of those drivers own a car
Drivers cited for not having their vehicles registered in Nevada when they need to be can face fines from $250 to $1,000.
It’s at the discretion of local judges.
Keep in mind, such fines could easily be more expensive than just going down and registering your car in Nevada.