We rode along with Trooper Chuck Allen with the Nevada Highway Patrol late Tuesday morning.
It only took us about 10 minutes before Trooper Allen made his first stop.
The driver told him he was testing his phone out as it had recently been damaged.
In Sparks, Jessica Kain was pulled over while using her phone at the intersection of Rock and Oddie Boulevard.
She told Trooper Allen she had never heard of the law.
We wondered how that was possible.
“I don't have cable to watch the news and I don't read the newspaper,” said Kain.
Trooper Allen says ignorance of the law isn't an excuse.
But he admits there is a lot of confusion about what is and isn't using your cell phone.
“I had a gentleman on Sunday who received a call. He was wearing a blue tooth. He picked up the phone and looked at the screen and then he pressed the blue tooth device on his ear. He had already broken the law by simply grabbing the phone with his hand and looking at the screen to see who was calling him,” says Trooper Allen.
Trooper Allen uses a head set that frees his hands to drive the car.
Most likely this is the way many Nevadans will be driving soon as to be in compliance with the law.
Lawmakers exempted law enforcement in the ban on cell phones and driving last year, and each department has set up its own guidelines.
For you and me however, the law is pretty cut and dry, and get caught two times in seven years, it will mean demerits on your driving record.
“If I get a call I try to make it as quick as possible but my timing is not very good I guess.,” says Thomas Hillen who was stopped just as he said he was pulling into a parking lot to take the call.
The NHP says it handed out 12 tickets on New Year’s Day and another 12 the day after.
The law went into effect the first of the year.
The fine is $112 for the first offense, but it can add up if you use your phone in a construction site.
Second violation is $192 dollars and a third is $352.
Four demerits will be added to your record if you violate the law more than once in seven years.