Balloon Race Winners Announced

By: Staff Email
By: Staff Email

RENO, NV - Officials with the Great Reno Balloon Race have announced the winners of this year's event.

The 32nd annual event wrapped up Sunday, September 8, with 90 balloonists competing for a share of an $11,000 prize purse. The top ten pilots were recognized at an awards banquet following the event. The pilots included:

Steve Wilkinson, CA/Sponsored by Raley’s
David Lynch, CA/Sponsored by Pacific States Communication
Doug Campbell, NV/Sponsored by Sani-Hut
Mike Kijak, CA/Sponsored by Medtech Services, Inc.
Brian Keown, CA/Sponsored by Raley’s
Allen Anderson, NV/Sponsored by Kersey Family
Kevin Herschman, AR/Sponsored by Peppermill Resort Casino Spa
Dan Walsh, CA/Sponsored by Nancy Gilbert, Attorney
Andrew Petrehn, ID/Sponsored by Draper Strategies and Communications
Dana Thornton, CA/Sponsored by Muckel Anderson

“This was a great year for the Balloon Race,” said Pete Copeland, executive director for GRBR. “This is the first, in several years, that the balloons were able to fly all four days of the event. We’d like to thank the volunteers, pilots, sponsors and community members for making this year’s event a success.

The event also celebrated its 30 anniversary of Dawn Patrol, and was recognized by Reno Mayor Bob Cashell with a proclamation naming Friday, September 6 ‘Great Reno Balloon Race Day’.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 223043891 -
Gray Television, Inc.