September 21, 2014
SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) - California drivers would face tougher consequences for chatting and texting on their cellphones while driving under a bill that passed the California Assembly.
Lawmakers voted 66-10 Thursday to approve AB1646 by Democratic Assemblyman Jim Frazier of Oakley.
The bill more than doubles the base fees for a first violation, from $20 to $50, and boosts the fine to $100 for subsequent violations. With additional penalties, the actual fines can be more than triple those amounts.
Under Frazier's bill, a second ticket would also come with a one-point penalty on the driver's license, which could lead to suspensions.
The bill also requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to test would-be drivers for their knowledge of the dangers of distracted driving on driver's license exams.
The bill heads to the Senate.
Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.