September 23, 2014
SACRAMENTO (AP) - California would outlaw text-messaging while
driving under a bill that's headed for Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger's
The state already requires adult drivers to use handsfree devices for cell phones. It bars 16- and 17-year-olds from using any device to talk or text while driving.
The bill approved Thursday would authorize $20 fines for adults if they're caught text-messaging while driving. Repeat offenses could result in $50 fines.
The measure's author, Sen. Joe Simitian of Palo Alto, says California should do more to prevent driving distractions.
Senators sent the Simitian bill to Schwarzenegger on Thursday on a 25-14 vote that approved Assembly amendments.
(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.