Nevada's Fajardo Named to Manning Award Watch List

By  | 

RENO, Nev. – Senior quarterback Cody Fajardo has been named to The Manning Award Watch List, the organization announced Thursday. The list includes 32 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2014 season.

In addition to The Manning Award, Fajardo has been named to watch lists for the Davey O’Brien Award, Maxwell Award and the College Football Performance Awards’ Quarterback Trophy.

The Brea, Calif., native has thrown for 7,161 yards and 39 touchdowns while rushing for 2,436 yards and 31 touchdowns in his career. Fajardo is one of only two players in the nation who has rushed for at least 30 TDs and passed for at least 30 TDs in his career. He has the third-highest career completion percentage among the nation’s returning quarterbacks (67.8 percent) and the second-most rushing yards among returning quarterbacks. Fajardo has the fewest interceptions (18) among any returning quarterback with at least 6,500 passing yards.

Fajardo is one of three Mountain West quarterbacks selected to the watch list, joining Colorado State’s Garrett Grayson and Utah State’s Chuckie Keeton

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidate’s bowl performance into its balloting. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowl season.

Fajardo and the Wolf Pack are hosting an open practice this Saturday, Aug. 16, at Mackay Stadium. Gates will open at 4:30 p.m. (PT) with an autograph signing session, schedule cards and posters available to fans at the conclusion of practice.