Kaepernick Wins ESPY Award

By  | 

Former Wolf Pack star Colin Kaepernick won an ESPY Award on Wednesday night.

Kaepernick was named the "Breakthrough Athlete" of 2013. He became the 49ers starting quarterback midway through the season, leading San Francisco to the NFC title and a berth in the Super Bowl.

That included a record 181 yards rushing in the Divisional Playoffs against Green Bay. That's the most rushing yards by a quarterback in NFL history.

Kaepernick won the ESPY over the other four nominees, including Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel, Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson, Dodgers rookie sensation Yasiel Puig and Angels star Mike Trout.