September 23, 2014
CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) - Talking or texting on a cellphone will soon be illegal in Nevada.
Gov. Brian Sandoval on Friday signed a ban into law that brings Nevada in line with the majority of other U.S. states. It makes exceptions for people talking on their phone with a hands-free device.
Police officers until next year must give warnings to people violating the ban. A fine and penalty structure kicks in Jan. 1, 2012.
Violating the law is a misdemeanor and subject to a $50 fine for the first offense. A second offense within seven years comes with a $100 fine and a third offense gets a $250 fine.
A person convicted of a third or subsequent offense within seven
years will have their driver's license suspended for six months.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.