Guinn Names Homeland Security Commission

Homeland Security
By  | 

The 18 members of Nevada's new state Commission on Homeland Security were named Thursday by Gov. Kenny Guinn - including a northern Nevada chairman and a dozen casino, medical, media and public safety representatives from southern Nevada.

The commission, set up by the 2003 Legislature, replaces a panel formed in 1999 that had operated in relative obscurity until the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks on New York and Washington.

The new commission is chaired by Jerry Bussell of Reno, Guinn's homeland security adviser. The vice chairman is Jerry Keller, vice president of security for Wynn Resorts in Las Vegas.

Besides Bussell, the five other northern Nevadans on the panel include Reno Mayor Bob Cashell, state Adjutant Gen. Giles Vanderhoof of Sparks, Washoe County Sheriff Dennis Balaam, Nevada Association of Counties chief Bob Hadfield of Carson City and retired judge Larma Volk of Sparks.

Other southern Nevadans besides Keller include Clark County Sheriff Bill Young, Las Vegas Metro Lt. John Alamshaw, Henderson Police Chief Michael Mayberry, Nevada Broadcasters Association president Bob Fisher of Henderson, Richard Brenner of the Clark County Fire Department and Las Vegas Councilman Lawrence Weekly.

Other Las Vegas-area members include Dr. Dale Carrison, head of emergency medicine at University Medical Center, UMC nurse Maria Lipscomb, North Las Vegas special projects analyst Kimberly McDonald, Maureen Peckman of Schafer Company LLC Las Vegas, and Jack Staley, Southern Nevada Water Authority and Las Vegas Valley Water District.

The commission will determine how millions of dollars in anti-terrorism funds are distributed throughout the state and oversee various anti-terrorism initiatives.

Bussell had said in July that southern Nevada would get more seats on the new panel - after Clark County got less than one-third of a $6.7 million federal grant. The old panel had a majority of members from central and northern Nevada.