October 4, 2015
Observational surveys show a dramatic increase in the use of child safety seats in Nevada, state traffic officials said Monday.
According to the Nevada Office of Traffic Safety, said statewide surveys ending in July found that 62.6 percent of children observed in vehicles were riding in child safety seats.
That's up from 37.3 percent the previous year, the agency said.
Still, Traffic Safety Chief Chuck Abbott said the rate of use in Nevada is lower than the national rate of 95 percent.
Current Nevada law requires all children under age 5 and 40 pounds to be in a child restraint while riding in a vehicle. Fines for noncompliance range from $35 to $100.
Beginning June 1, 2004, the age and weight limit will increase to include children to age 6 and 60 pounds.
Fines will also increase and range from $50 to $500.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.