New Candidate Gets UNR Nod

By  | 

Arizona State University provost Milton Glick won a search panel's endorsement Monday to become the next president of the University of Nevada, Reno.
The Nevada Board of Regents' search committee voted unanimously
to recommend the hiring of Glick, who has a background in chemistry
and information technology and once served as interim president of
Iowa State University.
The regents are scheduled to vote on the recommendation at a
special meeting May 5 in Reno.
The other two finalists under consideration were Stephen Wells,
president of the Desert Research Institute based in Reno, and
Marlene Strathe, provost of Oklahoma State University.
Former UNR President Joe Crowley has been serving as interim
president since John Lilley resigned from the position in January
to become president at Baylor University, his alma mater.
During the search process, the regents' panel focused on whether
candidates have the interpersonal skills to deal with morale
problems outlined in a faculty report last year. The report cited
an atmosphere of "intimidation and fear" under Lilley.
According to Arizona State University's Web site, Glick "has
actively promoted the careers of minorities and women in academia,
receiving the 1988 Award for Exemplary Service in Enhancing the
Status of Minorities at the University of Missouri."
In addition to provost, Glick has served as executive vice
president at ASU in Tempe, Ariz., since July 2002. From 1991 to
2002, he held the position of senior vice president and provost at
He holds a faculty appointment in ASU's Department of Chemistry
and Biochemistry and has published more than 100 articles on
structural chemistry, trends in higher education and information
Prior to his ASU appointment, Glick was a provost at Iowa State
University for three years and served as the school's interim
president for eight months.
Before that, he was dean of the College of Arts and Science at
the University of Missouri from 1983 to 1988. He was a member of
the chemistry faculty at Wayne State University for 17 years,
including five years as department chairman.
He earned his bachelor's degree from Augustana College and his
Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.