Nevada Republican Party Names National Convention Delegates

CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) - Three weeks after announcing the selection of Nevada delegates to the national Republican convention, the state GOP has released the names of those delegates - mostly prominent party regulars, loyalists and contributors.

The state party hadn't been able to get the 34-member delegation to the Sept. 1-4 national convention in St. Paul, Minn., named at its April convention in Reno. The April event ended abruptly prior to final votes on what was shaping up as a delegation with more backers for Ron Paul than for John McCain.

Ron Paul supporter Robert Holloway criticized the list of delegates, terming party leaders who blocked the April delegate selections "our own gang of muggers." He said Danny Tarkanian appears to be the only one of the delegates "legitimately elected" in April to make the state party's final list.

Besides Tarkanian, well-known state Republicans who are national
delegates include Joe Brown, Bruce Woodbury, Andy Abboud, Lt. Gov.
Brian Krolicki, Assembly members Heidi Gansert and Ty Cobb, Lynn
Weidner, state Sen. Barbara Cegavske, Robert Uithoven, Steve Martin, Barbara Lee-Woollen and Sue Lowden, the state party chairwoman.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

AP-NY-08-15-08 1625EDT