Angle Resumes Drive For Nevada Tax-Increase Limits

A new version of a Proposition 13-style petition aimed at limiting property tax increases in Nevada to 2 percent a year was filed Tuesday with the secretary of state by former Assemblywoman Sharron Angle of Reno.

The conservative, anti-tax Angle said the petition has the same tax limit requirements of a petition she withdrew in October, but it has been rewritten so it can better withstand an expected challenge from the AFL-CIO.

Angle failed in 2004 and 2006 to collect enough signatures to put the tax limitation petition before voters.

To qualify the latest petition for a spot on the ballot, her organization needs to collect 58,836 signatures by May 20.

Voters must approve the plan during general elections in 2008 and 2010.

If they do, the Nevada Constitution would be amended and the 2 percent limit on property taxes would be implemented in 2011.

Angle acknowledged that she lacks financial resources to hire paid circulators to collect signatures for the latest petition drive.

Initially petitions will be circulated by volunteers.

If her "We the People Nevada" donation efforts are successful, paid
circulators will be hired. Angle said she expects to have to pay $2 for each signature.

When she first filed the petition in September, Angle spoke optimistically of her chances for success because she had secured a $200,000 contribution from an anonymous donor.

But Angle now says the donor backed out after the AFL-CIO challenged the constitutionality of the petition in Carson City District Court.

Angle pulled the petition six days before a scheduled court hearing.

Since then, her organization has been mailing letters asking people to donate to the petition drive. In letters, the organization says it needs $50,000 to fight a lawsuit and $350,000 to collect petitions.

The Legislature in 2005 passed a law that limits property tax increases to 3 percent a year on owner-occupied residential property and 8 percent on commercial and other property.

Angle was the only legislator to vote against that legislation.