Tyler, Perry Lead Songwriter Hall of Fame Class

By: AP Email
By: AP Email

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - The Songwriters Hall of Fame is saluting 1970s and '80s rock 'n' roll with its 2013 induction class.

Joe Perry and Steven Tyler of Aerosmith and Mick Jones and Lou Gramm of Foreigner will join the hall of fame this year along with the writers of iconic rock hits "Love Is a Battlefield" and "Heartache Tonight."

The ceremony will be held June 13 in New York.

Aerosmith and Foreigner will get the attention, but inductees Holly Knight, JD Souther and Tony Hatch also have distinguished careers that helped define the sound of rock 'n' roll. Knight wrote anthemic hits like "Love Is a Battlefield" and "Invincible" for Pat Benatar. Souther scored several hits with The Eagles, and Hatch made his mark during the British invasion, teaming with Petula Clark on hits like "Downtown" that helped shaped the future of pop music.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 192604541 - kolotv.com/a?a=192604541
Gray Television, Inc.